Opened 7 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

Last modified 6 years ago

#1616 closed bug (fixed)

Switching site languages create a new (unwanted) translated profile

Reported by: crumbking Owned by: shevek
Priority: major Milestone: 1.3
Component: BW Profile Keywords:
Cc: beatnickgr

Description

Issue:

  • after switching the language of the site and visiting the profile page creates a (unwanted) profile translation. It even switch to this (unwanted) profile translation. It's even getting better: If you hit the edit button of the (unwanted) translation change XY and click the save button it shows changes are saved and it opens the other version of your translated profile and for the user it seems like the changes are not saved.

Solution:

  • Stop the automatic creation of a profile translation while surfing in another languages
  • Check if the code jumps to the right profile translation after hitting the save button in the "edit profile page"
  • add a message above the edit profile form: "You are editing the XYlanguage of your profile."

Alternative:

  • Get rid of the whole profile translation thing ;-)

Change History (24)

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by jsfan

  • Milestone Future deleted

Milestone Future deleted

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

  • Milestone set to unassigned
  • Owner set to shevek
  • Status changed from new to assigned

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by beatnickgr

  • Cc beatnickgr added

comment:4 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

Check if that problem only occurs because the add a language is visible without editing.

comment:5 follow-up: Changed 6 years ago by shevek

  • Milestone changed from unassigned to 1.3

That there is an 'add language' makes sense in that way that you can edit all other profile entities directly if it is your profile. Adding a language can be understood as such an action.

The reason why there is a new language added with every language switch is that in member.model.php in get_profile_language if no language is set the current language of the UI is used. I have a fix that changes that to English. As English is the fallback when you delete the last profile this should be fine.

Assigned to 1.3 and commited as https://gitorious.org/bewelcome/rox/commit/db5f4c8ca7e5f1288afd766ce15bde3ab05ac976

Last edited 6 years ago by shevek (previous) (diff)

comment:6 Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

Well I understand the idea of adding a new profile translation. But the software should leave it to me to create a new profile language. All the time I have to delete another profile translations. (Because I often test in different languages...)

Also the workflow should be improved. Means if I enter the edit form a box should say "You edit the German translation" and after saving a box should say "You saved the German translation" Currently you have to guess which translation you edit.

But your commit goes in the right direction ;-)

comment:7 in reply to: ↑ 5 Changed 6 years ago by planetcruiser

Replying to shevek:

Assigned to 1.3 and commited as https://gitorious.org/bewelcome/rox/commit/db5f4c8ca7e5f1288afd766ce15bde3ab05ac976

code review comment: no tabs please. indent by 4 spaces in php, 2 spaces in js

comment:8 Changed 6 years ago by jsfan

Yeah, saw that as well but shevek should know. ;)

comment:9 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

Actually I fixed some tabs in other documents... I change the setting of my PDT now. Shouldn't happen again... (recommitted without tabs for the changes).

comment:10 in reply to: ↑ description ; follow-up: Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

Solution:

  • Stop the automatic creation of a profile translation while surfing in another languages

seems to work now on alpha

  • Check if the code jumps to the right profile translation after hitting the save button in the "edit profile page"

does not work, it jumps back to the English version instead to the German version after saving...

  • add a message above the edit profile form: "You are editing the XYlanguage of your profile."

we really should add these information it helps people to translate the right version

comment:11 in reply to: ↑ 10 ; follow-up: Changed 6 years ago by shevek

Replying to crumbking:

  • Check if the code jumps to the right profile translation after hitting the save button in the "edit profile page"

does not work, it jumps back to the English version instead to the German version after saving...

It does redirect to editmyprofile/$lang/finish here. And shows the right content.

What error do you see?

  • add a message above the edit profile form: "You are editing the XYlanguage of your profile."

we really should add these information it helps people to translate the right version

UX is always fun. The edited language is bold and has a red x next to it already. I would be surprised if a message helps there...

comment:12 follow-up: Changed 6 years ago by shevek

@crumbking: Is your problem covered by #1756? If so could you please close this one?

comment:13 in reply to: ↑ 12 Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

Replying to shevek:

@crumbking: Is your problem covered by #1756? If so could you please close this one?

partly ;-)

comment:14 in reply to: ↑ 11 Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

Replying to shevek:

Replying to crumbking:

  • Check if the code jumps to the right profile translation after hitting the save button in the "edit profile page"

does not work, it jumps back to the English version instead to the German version after saving...

It does redirect to editmyprofile/$lang/finish here. And shows the right content.

What error do you see?

No error, it's simply not possible to directly see your translation. While you are at the page: editmyprofile/de/finish. The link over the edit form "deutsch" (with red x) is not click able and the profile link in the sidebar brings you to the English version.

Suggestion:

  • add the link to the German profile version of editmyprofile/de/finish behind "deutsch"

or

  • change green box text to "Your profile in German was successfully updated, see your profile in LINK German LINK"
    • add a message above the edit profile form: "You are editing the XYlanguage of your profile."

    we really should add these information it helps people to translate the right version

    UX is always fun. The edited language is bold and has a red x next to it already. I would be surprised if a message helps there...

Well I have not seen many translated profile so I guess it's the other way around ;-)

comment:15 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

#1756 seems to cover some of this. Someone already worked on that so we could likely throw that into 1.5.

Would that help? And add the rest to the list of things we want to fix in welen?

Last edited 6 years ago by shevek (previous) (diff)

comment:16 Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

I think I almost have a patch here:

Simply getting the Profile translation name in the green box

$profile_language_name

But what about the wording?

  • Your profile was successfully updated in "italiano". View your profile.
  • Your profile translation was successfully updated in "italiano". View your profile.
  • Your profile was successfully updated in italiano. View your profile.

comment:17 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

"Your profile version for 'italiano' was updated successfully." But I really hate the added 'successfully'.

The 'View your profile' part would contain the link?

Last edited 6 years ago by shevek (previous) (diff)

comment:18 Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

Yeah I guess this would be the easiest ...

comment:19 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

Merged both into one: "Your profile for '$lang' has been updated." Where '$lang' is linked to members/username/$lang.

Commit: https://gitorious.org/bewelcome/rox/commit/748a33542e1226d31d0c1765f0c381e542ecc965

comment:20 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

Ticket can only be closed after the release as this needs an update for the word code: EditmyprofileFinish? ("Your profile for %2$s'%1$s'%3$s was updated.")

comment:21 Changed 6 years ago by crumbking

I would introduce a new code as this could end up in a couple of x x x in not translated versions....

comment:22 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

No worries, the word code will be updated after the release. So the code that does the replacing will be online.

comment:23 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

Updated the word code after pushing changes to www. Closing.

comment:24 Changed 6 years ago by shevek

  • Milestone set to 1.3
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.