Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#2028 closed improve feature (fixed)

If confirmation Mail is lost, there is no chance to complete the registration

Reported by: arved Owned by: shevek
Priority: major Milestone: 2.1
Component: BW Profile Keywords:
Cc:

Description

When the Errormessage appears that Login is not possible, because the user is in state MailToConfirm?, it should offer to resend the confirmation Mail.

If the Mail is not confirmed within a number of days (i propose around 2 weeks), the profile should be deleted to allow other users to register this username.

Change History (15)

comment:1 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Component changed from unknown to BW Profile
  • Milestone changed from unassigned to 2.1

comment:2 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Owner set to shevek
  • Status changed from new to assigned

Confirmation mail can now be resend after successful login.

Fixed with: http://gitorious.org/bewelcome/rox/commit/914eed1d666585d6e6af570ceb7126eb4713cb0a

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from assigned to to_alpha

comment:4 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from to_alpha to testing

comment:5 Changed 5 years ago by crumbking

Is status changed after 2 weeks? As mentioned in the ticket?

comment:6 follow-up: Changed 5 years ago by shevek

No it's not. Apparently people realize that they never got the mail and contact support after 4 weeks.

We actually have a lot of mail to confirm profiles (I guess spammers) that date back 5 years.

Which blocks some usernames I guess. But that is a discussion we should take into the forum/suggestions.

comment:7 in reply to: ↑ 6 Changed 5 years ago by arved

Replying to shevek:

No it's not. Apparently people realize that they never got the mail and contact support after 4 weeks.

We actually have a lot of mail to confirm profiles (I guess spammers) that date back 5 years.

Which blocks some usernames I guess. But that is a discussion we should take into the forum/suggestions.

My second profile was created 4 years ago. I am not a spammer, at that time the signup process was horrible broken. I didn't contact support at that time (...but chose a different username). Maybe you could change this message LoginErrorMailToConfirm [LoginErrorMailToConfirmHere,,] into "Please contact the Support".

Also btw, i just tried on alpha, and there i get the following error message:

Notice: Use of undefined constant ENT_HTML401 - assumed 'ENT_HTML401' in /var/rox/deployment/alpha.bewelcome.org-29c255f/build/login/login.ctrl.php on line 108 Warning: htmlspecialchars() expects parameter 2 to be long, string given in /var/rox/deployment/alpha.bewelcome.org-29c255f/build/login/login.ctrl.php on line 108 

comment:8 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

The wordcode isn't yet translated so the default. Unfortunately because of the notice that wasn't at all meaningful.

The idea is that the text reads something like 'Your email address isn't confirmed yet. If you haven't received you're confirmation mail please you can <a>resend</a> it. If that also fails please contact support.'

comment:9 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from testing to needs_work

There's a problem with the link that needs to be fixed before the release.

comment:10 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from needs_work to to_alpha

comment:11 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from to_alpha to testing

Deployed to alpha.

comment:12 Changed 5 years ago by sitatara

  • Status changed from testing to needs_work

I set a test profile on MailToConfirm, and tried to log in. I see the error message which has a resend link. Without clicking on that link at all, I received a message with an e-mail confirmation link.

If I click the link to contact the support team and then the back button in my browser I get a second identical message (without ever having clicked the "resend" link.

If I finally click on "resend" I get a third identical message.

comment:13 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from needs_work to to_alpha

I could reproduce the problem and started studying the code. Finally I realized that I logged in while being on the page /signup/resendmail/<username> as I never clicked the confirm link the status never changed. Following the feedback link and going back again triggers the mail send as well.

Without adding a new state this can't be mitigated. Adding a new status means that you can only resend it once.

I removed the login widget from the resend mail page to avoid further confusion if a member tries to get a resend mail again by logging on that page (after whitelisting BW etc.).

Commit: https://gitorious.org/bewelcome/rox/commit/c2f6d2fdb6613a03000e7964f0cc322c4fb98014

comment:14 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Status changed from to_alpha to testing

comment:15 Changed 5 years ago by shevek

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from testing to closed

Works fine on www. Closed as fixed.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.